Women In Government approved the 2019 Board of Directors at its October board meeting in Washington, DC.

WASHINGTON, DC, October 18, 2018 /24-7PressRelease/ — Women In Government, a national non-profit, nonpartisan membership organization representing women state legislators since 1988, approved the 2019 Board of Directors at its October board meeting in Washington, DC.

Maine State Representative Stacey Guerin (R) will lead the Board as Chair, Washington State Representative Cindy Ryu (D) will serve as Vice Chair, Massachusetts Representative Jennifer Benson (D) will serve as Treasurer, Delaware Representative Deborah Hudson (R) will continue as Secretary and Colorado Senator Nancy Todd (D) will serve as Immediate Past Chair.

Serving as Members At Large are Alaska Representative Geran Tarr (D) for the West region, Kansas Senator Barbara Bollier (R) for the Midwest Region, Maryland Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes (D) for the East Region, Mississippi Representative Patricia Willis (R) for the South region.

Regional Directors are Hawaii Representative Lauren Matsumoto (R) for the Western region, Illinois Senator Mattie Hunter (D) for the Midwestern region, Connecticut Representative Christie Carpino (R) for the Eastern Region and Georgia Senator Gloria Butler (D) for the Southern region.

“In this our 30th anniversary year, Women In Government welcomes a great team of legislators and leaders to usher in the next decade,” stated Current Board Chairs, Senator Nancy Todd (D-CO).

Incoming Chair Representative Stacey Guerin (R-ME) concurred, stating “Women In Government will continue to provide resources, events and platforms to explore and address the complex policy issues facing states.”

Board terms become effective in January 2019. Brief biographies of each Board Director appear below.

State Representative Jennifer Benson (D-MA) represents the 37th House District that includes parts of Middlesex and Worcester Counties, Massachusetts. She serves as the Chair of the State Administration and Regulatory Oversight Committee.

State Senator Barbara Bollier (R-KS) represents the 7th Senate District that includes parts of Johnson County, Kansas. She serves on the Senate Select Committee on Education Finance, Education Committee, Public Health and Welfare Committee, and the Commerce Committee.

State Senator Gloria Butler (D-GA) represents the 55th Senate District that includes parts of DeKalb County, Georgia. She serves as the Secretary of the Ethics and Urban Affairs Committees and as a member of the Health and Human Services, MARTOC, Rules, State and Local Governmental Operations, and Transportation Committees.

State Representative Christie Carpino (R-CT) represents 32nd House District that includes parts of Cromwell and Portland, Connecticut. She serves as the Co-Chair of the Legislative Regulation Review Committee and as a member of the Judiciary and Public Health Committees.

State Representative Stacey Guerin (R-ME) represents the 102nd House District that includes part of Penobscot County, Maine. She serves as Ranking Minority Member of the Judiciary Committee and is a member of the Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Committee.

State Representative Deborah Hudson (R-DE) represents the 12th House District that includes parts of New Castle County, Delaware. She serves as the House Minority Whip and serves on the Administration, Ethics, Veterans Affairs, Rules and Telecommunications Internet & Technology Committees.

State Senator Mattie Hunter (D-IL) represents the 3rd Senate District that includes Chicago, Illinois. She serves as the Majority Caucus Chair and Vice Chair of the Energy & Public Utilities Committee. She is also a member of the Executive, Human Services, Public Health, and Appropriations I Committees.

State Representative Lauren Matsumoto (R-HI) represents the 45th House District that includes Schofield, Mokuleia, Waialua, Kunia, Waipio Acres, Mililani, Hawaii. She serves on the Economic Development & Business, Education, Higher Education, Labor & Public Employment Committees.

State Representative Cindy Ryu (D-WA) represents the 32nd House District that includes parts of Shoreline, Woodway, Esperance and Lynnwood, Washington. She serves as Chair of the Community Development, Housing & Tribal Affairs Committee and is a member of the Capital Budget and Commerce and Gaming Committee.

State Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes (D-MD) represents the 37A House District that includes parts of Dorchester and Wicomico Counties, Maryland. She serves on the Health and Government Operations Committee. She also serves as the President of the Women Legislators of Maryland.

State Representative Geran Tarr (D-AK) represents the 19th House District that includes Anchorage, Alaska. She serves a Co-Chair of the Resources Committee and as a member of the Health & Social Services, Fisheries and Joint Armed Services Committees.

State Senator Nancy Todd (D-CO) represents the 28th Senate District which includes parts of Arapahoe County, Colorado. She serves as the Vice Chair of the Legislative Audit Committee and is the Ranking member of the Education and Transportation Committees and a member of the Technology Committee.

State Representative Patricia H. Willis (R-MS) represents the 95th House District that includes parts of Hancock and Harrison Counties, Mississippi. She serves as the Chair of the Drug Policy Committee and as a member of the Corrections, Gaming, Judiciary B, Judiciary En Banc, Marine Resources, Military Affairs, Ports Harbors and Airports, and Tourism Committees.

Women In Government Foundation, Inc., headquartered in Washington, D.C., is a national, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of women state legislators. Led by a national Board of Directors consisting of 13 state legislators, WIG provides leadership opportunities, networking, expert forums, and educational resources to address and resolve complex public policy issues to all women state legislators. Women In Government leads the nation with a bold, courageous and passionate vision that empowers and mobilizes all women legislators to effect sound policy in areas such as healthcare, education, energy, the environment, transportation, criminal justice and the arts.

Website: https://www.womeningovernment.org

For the original version of this press release, please visit 24-7PressRelease.com here